Society Board Minutes 1-15-19


1/15/19 – Final

The Board members running for re-election were successful, and there was no change to the Board from Elections, or to the Society Officers. Brad Evenson resigned with one year left on his term, and Shelly Ralston, ORV Chapter, was appointed to finish his term. The FRC is beginning to update the Rulebook. The SSC is reviewing magic item activation. Tech is planning a Monster Wiki, i.e. online monster manual. The Constitutional Review Task Force will be tackling the By-Laws next. The Central Ohio Provisional Chapter asked to be dissolved. The Board is reviewing proposed safety rules for manufactured foam weapons for inclusion in the Safety Handbook.

The 1/15/19 Society Board Meeting was called to order at 8:09 p.m. Eastern Time, via Discord. Present were Board Members John Jones, Hugh Greene, Pat McGehearty, David Spence, Sarah Gibson and Olan Knight. Brad Evenson was absent. Melanie Greene from Northern Alabama Chapter, Tina Spence from Dallas Chapter, and Hope Fountain and Shelly Ralston from ORV Provisional Chapter also attended. Society Clerk Janice Gott was also present.



 MINUTES: MOTION: To approve the minutes of the 12/11/18 Board Meeting (Knight, Spence, by acclaim).

ELECTION REPORT: Hope Fountain reported that all of the constitutional amendments were approved, and Board Members David Spence, Olan Knight, John Jones and Hugh Greene will continue in their positions.

MOTION: To accept the election report as presented by Election Chair Hope Fountain (Spence, Knight, by acclaim).

NEW BOARD: (no changes)

MOTION: To appoint John Jones as President (Knight, Gibson, passed 5-0-1, with Jones abstaining).
MOTION: To appoint Sarah Gibson as Vice President (McGehearty, Spence, passed 6-0).
MOTION: To appoint Ray Michel as Treasurer  and Bret Halford as Corporate Secretary & Registered Agent, assuming they are still willing to serve (Spence, Knight, passed 6-0).


FRC REPORT: Spence reports that the FRC is moving to bi-weekly meetings. They are testing an on-line rulebook collaboration, so all committee members can see and make comments.

SSC REPORT: The SSC is reviewing a spell damage enhancement focii. They are on the second draft of a chapter on Magic Item activation.

REGISTRY: This is the end of the year and each chapter needs to send the Society Registry Chair their annual Chapter Admin CAP.  Registry also requests a copy of each Chapter’s Registry if it is in a format that would allow them to do so.  Hugh Greene indicated that Northern Alabama’s has a new Registry Chair, Melanie Greene. They intend to transition to an electronic database.

TECH COMMITTEE: Jones reports no updates on the main website. He is working on the Monster Wiki entry; i.e. the online Monster Manual for IFGS. Gott will send him the new constitution to place on the website.


CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW TASK FORCE: The intent is to update the By-laws during this next year, like they worked on the Constitution last year. The election results were uneven for the various measures. Some members may have had a hard time understanding the intent of the changes.

CHAPTER LIAISON UPDATES:  Central Ohio has asked to dissolve their chapter. Spence is their liaison.

MOTION: To dissolve the Central Ohio Provisional Chapter upon receipt of their final paperwork and any outstanding funds (Spence, Greene, by acclaim).

Ohio River Valley is picking up some of the Central Ohio members. ORV is going to run an Eagle’s Talon Tavern this month.

LATEX FOAM WEAPON REGULATIONS: The Board is reviewing proposed safety rules for manufactured foam weapons and will refer the proposed rules to the Safety Committee for discussion and potential inclusion in the Safety Handbook.


BOARD POSITION OPEN: Due to the increasing demands of his employment, Brad Evenson tendered his resignation as Board Member. He has a year left in his term.

MOTION: The Board thanks Brad Evenson for his many years of service on the Board (Knight, McGehearty, by acclaim).

MOTION: To appoint Shelly Ralston of the Ohio River Valley Provisional Chapter to the remainder of Brad Evenson’s term on the Society Board (Greene, Spence, by acclaim).

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS: All Society Committees have appointments expiring in March. The Committee Chairs are encouraged to recruit for volunteers.

NEXT BOARD MEETING: The next Board Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, February 20th, 2019. Times for the meeting are 5 pm Pacific, 6 pm MST, 7 pm CST, and 8 pm EST. The meeting will be held on Discord.  The meeting was adjourned at 9:27 pm EST.



Dallas – Evenson

Denver/Boulder – Spence

Norman – Spence

Pacific Northwest – Jones

Northern Alabama – Gibson



Greater Milwaukee – Greene

Ohio River Valley – Knight





Completed Tasks

Society-level electronic voting – Completed

Society Waiver Forms – Completed

Stoplight Policy – Completed

Milestone & Karma Awards – Completed

Business Cards – Available on Vistaprint

Updating Society Website to WordPress – Completed


In Process Tasks

Updating Governing Documents – In process with Society Task Force

Updated Committee Charters – In process with Society Task Force


On Hold

Expand and Revise Wiki (Possibly incorporating online rules.)

Sci-Fi Rules


Not Started

Updating GW Handbook–

Streamlining the payment processes between Society and Chapters –

Treasury Tracking –

Shared Calendar on Website –

Creation of a Treasury Handbook –

Membership Tracking –

Link Exchanges –

Research for 8.0 Rules Set –



Society Board Members

John Jones (TX) (2021) [Pres]

Sarah Gibson (TX) (2020) [VP]

Pat McGehearty (TX) (2020)

Shelly Ralston (OH) (2020)

Olan Knight (TX) (2021)

Hugh Greene (AL) (2021)

David Spence (TX) (2021)



Fantasy Rules Committee (FRC)

David Spence (TX) (2019) [Chair]

Henry Wood (TX) (2020) [Vice Chair]

Brad Evenson (CO) (2019)

Hugh Greene (TX) (2019)

Seth Bush (TX) (2020)

David Gibson (TX) (2020)

Michael Englerth (CO) (2020)

Joshua Harris (TX) (2019) ad hoc temporary


Society Sanctioning Committee (SSC)

John Jones (TX) (2020) [Chair]

Seth Bush (TX) (2019)

Olan Knight (TX) (2020)

Kaaren Davis (CO) (2019)

Melanie Greene (AL) (2019)


General Promotions Committee (SGP)

Sarah Gibson [Chair]

Jason Dziuk (2015)

open (2014)

open (2014)


Publications Committee

Members all informal appointments –


Elections Committee

Hope Fountain (OH)

Janice Gott (OH)


Registry Chair

Olan Knight (TX)


Tech Committee

Brett Paul (CO) Interim Chair

Robert Armstrong (TX) [potential Chair]

John Jones (TX)

Bethany Vann (OK)

Sarah Gibson (TX)



Safety Committee

Brad Evenson (CO) [Society Safety Officer]

David Ellis (CO)


Constitutional Review Task Force

Hugh Greene (AL) [Chair]

Brad Evenson (CO)

Ray Michel (CO)

Christopher Seals (TX)