Society Board Minutes – July 2017


7/12/17 – Final

Wherein the Central Ohio Provisional Chapter is created and the incipient suburban Chicago Chapter is encouraged. A Registry Handbook update is approved and Northern Alabama Provisional Chapter reports that had a successful recruitment game. Knight opened a discussion about increasing the overall treasure allocation for festival style games.

The 7/12/17 Society Board Meeting was called to order at 8:06 p.m. Eastern Time. Present were Board Members John Jones, Olan Knight, Pat McGehearty, Brad Evenson, David Spence and Hugh Greene. Sarah Gibson was absent. Melanie Greene from N. Alabama Chapter and Janice Gott Society Clerk were present. Jack Fulks and Stephanie Shields from the incipient Central Ohio Provisional Chapter were present.


MINUTES: MOTION: To approve the minutes of the 6/14/17 Board Meeting (Knight, Evenson, passed by acclaim).

FRC REPORT: The March 7.1 Playtest Rules Release has added Fighter specialties. Thieves are in process, followed by Druids. The FRC has received a Hit or Miss question that they will be addressing. During the playtest period, PC characters will be able to play the various specializations without committing their character to that path, and PC characters may temporarily switch to the new Bard class for playtesting. In fact, PCs are encouraged to try the new specializations out and comment on them to the FRC ( Also note that no magic item using new abilities may be created during the playtest period.

SSC REPORT: Jones reported that the SSC has posted the finalized 2.13 revision of the Bluebook.

REGISTRY: Knight is counseling the new Central Ohio group on developing an electronic registry database. He would still like to receive quarterly backups of the Chapter registry databases, but has not been receiving them because most active chapters do not have electronic databases.

TECH COMMITTEE: Robert Armbruster has been in touch with Brett Paul, to start handing off the Tech Committee information. Courtney Miller of Dallas Chapter has volunteered to help update the website.


CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW TASK FORCE: Chris Seals would like to join the Task Force. Greene will contact him.




SCIFI RULES COMMITTEE: Henry Wood has been working on this project. Greene noted that having a catchy name for each rules set would be good from a marketing standpoint.

LARP BOX: No report yet from Gibson.


APPLICATION FROM THE NEW CENTRAL OHIO PROVISIONAL CHAPTER: Jack Fulks and Stephanie Shields were present from the new group. They have 10 paid members and have held an organizational meeting, and are officially applying as a new chapter. Fulks met with Clerk Janice Gott and she handed over to him items from the old Central Ohio and Ohio River Valley Chapters that were in her possession.

MOTION: To accept Central Ohio as a new Provisional Chapter (Knight, Greene, passed by acclaim).

POTENTIAL CHICAGO AREA CHAPTER: A group from suburban Chicago has been organizing a new IFGS group. The Board welcomes the Chicago area group and invites them to apply as a new provisional chapter.

NEW CHAPTER LIAISON: David Spence volunteered to be the Liaison for the new Central Ohio Provisional Chapter.

UPDATE TO THE REGISTRY HANDBOOK: Knight has updated the Registry Handbook to change Central Ohio to an active chapter

MOTION: To accept the new Registry Handbook v3.22 (McGehearty, Spence, passed by acclaim).

CHAPTER LIAISONS: Northern Alabama ran 15 teams through a mini game at a convention, and are pretty sure some new members will come from it. They sent postcards to old permanent members from the Atlanta and Alabama area, to invite them to participate again.

FESTIVAL STYLE GAMES: Knight has suggested a change to the Blue Book to re-adjust the treasure pool for treasure available to be given out during Festival Style Games. He received a lot of feedback from Board members, and will re-write his proposal. Jones noted that, of course, the SSC would like to have a chance to comment on the revised proposal.

NEXT MEETING: The next IFGS Board Meeting will be held on Wednesday, August 23rd. Times for the meeting are 5 pm Pacific, 6 pm MST, 7 pm CST, and 8 pm EST. The meeting will be held on Skype at i_f_g_s or 720.259.1667. The meeting was adjourned at 9:23 pm EST.






Dallas – Evenson

Denver/Boulder – Spence

Norman – Spence

Pacific Northwest – Jones

Northern Alabama – Gibson


Greater Milwaukee – Greene

Southern California – Knight

Central Ohio – Spence





Completed Tasks

Society-level electronic voting – Completed

Society Waiver Forms – Completed

Stoplight Policy – Completed

Milestone & Karma Awards – Completed

Business Cards – Available on Vistaprint

Updating Society Website to WordPress – Completed


In Process Tasks

Updating Governing Documents – In process with Society Task Force

Updated Committee Charters – In process with Society Task Force


On Hold

Character Creation System

Expand and Revise Wiki (Possibly incorporating online rules.) –


Not Started

Updating GW Handbook–

Streamlining the payment processes between Society and Chapters –

Treasury Tracking –

Shared Calendar on Website –

Creation of a Treasury Handbook –

Membership Tracking –

Link Exchanges –

Research for 8.0 Rules Set –



Society Board Members

John Jones (TX) (2019) [Pres]

Sarah Gibson (TX) (2018) [VP]

Pat McGehearty (TX) (2018)

Brad Evenson (CO) (2018)

Olan Knight (TX) (2019)

Hugh Greene (AL) (2019)

David Spence (TX) (2019)



Fantasy Rules Committee (FRC)

David Spence (TX) (2019) [Chair]

Brad Evenson (CO) (2019)

Hugh Greene (TX) (2019)

Seth Bush (TX) (2018)

David Gibson (TX) (2018)

Joshua Harris (TX) (2019) ad hoc temporary


Society Sanctioning Committee (SSC)

John Jones (TX) (2018) [Chair]

Seth Bush (TX) (2019)

Olan Knight (TX) (2018)

Kaaren Davis (CO) (2019)

Melanie Greene (AL) (2019)


General Promotions Committee (SGP)

Sarah Gibson [Chair]

Jason Dziuk (2015)

open (2014)

open (2014)


Publications Committee

Members all informal appointments –


Elections Committee

Jason Dziuk


Registry Chair

Olan Knight (TX)


Tech Committee

Brett Paul (CO) [Chair]

Robert Armstrong (TX)

Bethany Vann (OK)

Sarah Gibson (TX)


Constitutional Review Task Force

Hugh Greene (AL) [Chair]

Brad Evenson

Ray Michel